Watch Cola share new song ‘Degree’

Their debut album lands next month.

With their debut album ‘Deep In View’ set for release on 20th May on Fire Talk Records, Cola - the new project from former Ought members Tim Darcy and Ben Stidworthy and US Girls/The Weather Station drummer Evan Cartwright - are sharing their latest single ‘Degree’.

“The character in ‘Degree’ is cycling in and out of these dreamscape states (movie theater, meditation, etc) and then trying to catch up to something in their day to day life,” Tim says. “I picture what it feels like running to catch the bus when you’re in a daze and suddenly have to sprint.”

“‘Degree’ is based on a 2-step kinda track I produced while trying to do the fabled and well-trodden path of using guitars in electronic music,” Ben explains. “I came up with this psych-drenched outro that I really enjoyed so I decided to base a song around that chord progression.”

“I wanted the beat to feel like the opening and closing of a mechanical valve,” Evan adds. “The guitar riff supplies this relentless propulsion and I thought that the drums should act as a stiff regulator: aggressively blocking, then releasing the heavy flow that comes pouring out of the guitar.”

Check it out below.

‘Deep In View’ Tracklisting:
1. Blank Curtain
2. So Excited
3. At Pace
4. Met Resistance
5. Degree
6. Water Table
7. Gossamer
8. Mint
9. Fulton Park
10. Landers

See Cola live at the following dates:

20 | Crickhowell, UK - Green Man Festival
23 | Brighton, UK - Prince Albert
24 | London, UK - Moth Club
25 | Birmingham, UK - Hare & Hounds
26 | Bristol, UK - Rough Trade Bristol
27 | Birkenhead, UK - Future Yard
28 | Sunderland, UK - Pop Recs Ltd.
30 | Edinburgh, UK - Sneaky Pete's
31 | Glasgow, UK - Broadcast

01 | Leeds, UK - Brunendell Social Club
02 | Nottingham, UK - Rough Trade
03 | Manchester, UK - Manchester Psych Fest (Yes)
04 | Salisbury, UK - End of the Road Festival

3 back issues for £7

3 back issues for £7

Buy Now