Listen Yeah Yeah Yeahs share new track ‘Burning’

Photo: Jason Al-Taan

Their new album ‘Cool It Down’ is out next month.

Ahead of the release of their new album ‘Cool It Down’ on 30th September via Secretly Canadian, Yeah Yeah Yeahs are sharing new track ‘Burning’.

“Back when I was 19 living in the east village, one night a roommate dragged me out of the apartment for an impromptu drink across the street, I left a votive candle burning on a plastic yaffa block which in my absence set flame to my room,” Karen O says. “Within an hour and a half of having one drink down the block firefighters had come and gone extinguishing the fire, I came home to find that a natural disaster had occurred (to my room) and most of my stuff, lost in the flames. All electronic goods were melted and demolished like my laptop, cameras etc. but oddly enough the items that held the most sentimental value remained intact like sketchbooks, a favorite sweater with hearts across the chest, and photographs. I had photos of my parents in their youth where the fire burnt around the two of them as if there was some intangible force field protecting them, many photos like that, mysteriously leaving the beloved subjects untouched.

“If the world is on fire I hope the most beloved stay protected and that we do all we can to protect what we cherish most in this life. ‘Burning’ is a song about that feeling, smoke signals for the soul. Begging to cool it down, just doing it the best we know how. Nick and I nodded to Frankie Valli’s ‘Beggin’, with the line ‘oooh lay your red hand on me baby.’ We’ve cut a rug to many a soulful sixties bangers in our day, it was in our DNA by the time we wrote ‘Burning’.”

Check it out below.

‘Cool It Down’ Tracklisting:
1. Spitting Off the Edge of the World feat. Perfume Genius
2. Lovebomb
3. Wolf
4. Fleez
5. Burning
6. Blacktop
7. Different Today
8. Mars

See Yeah Yeah Yeahs live at the following dates:

18: Riot Fest @ Chicago, IL

01: Forest Hills Stadium @ New York, NY *
06: Hollywood Bowl @ Los Angeles, CA *

17: Guanamor Teatro Studio @ Guadalajara, MX
November 19: Corona Capital @ Mexico City, MX

* w/ Japanese Breakfast and The Linda Lindas


Subscribe to DIY

Buy Now

Records & Merch

More like this