Watch Skullcrusher releases two new songs

Check out ‘They Quiet The Room’ and ‘Quiet The Room’ now.

With her debut album ‘Quiet The Room’ set for release on 14th October via Secretly Canadian, Skullcrusher is sharing new tracks ‘They Quiet The Room’ and ‘Quiet The Room’, a piano arrangement of the song.

“’Quiet the Room’ is the first song I wrote for the album although I didn’t know it yet,” Skullcrusher explains. “It felt like opening a secret door into a new world. I wrote it on the piano I grew up with and inevitably felt the presence of my childhood self. This would linger with me throughout the process of making the record.

“Simply put, the song is about communication and isolation, the kind experienced by a child that influences their journey into adulthood. I was thinking about my childhood bedroom but also an unknown room, surreal and empty but for the weighted presence of things unsaid. The basis of the recording is a live performance I did at Dreamland studios in Woodstock, NY. From that take we added field recordings and room ambience (crickets, creaking, doors opening and closing, footsteps, etc…). It wasn’t until a year later that I revisited the song as the beginning of this album.

“I had a thought to write an alternate version of the song with different chords on guitar. This version, ‘They Quiet the Room’ became a different song entirely. It shifted the tone of the lyrics and instead of a dark room I imagined playing outside in the daytime, lost in some fantasy world. The two together, ‘They Quiet the Room’ into ‘Quiet the Room,’ are like the passing of a day. Perhaps one spent as a child making up imaginary games outside before returning inside for dinner, crossing over some kind of barrier as dusk settles, to have dinner or sit at the piano alone.”

Speaking on the creation of the music videos, she adds, “The video for ‘Quiet the Room’ came together at the last, but oh so right, moment. A sort of shrine to childhood, we spent much of the process arranging my personal tchotchkes into an intricate still life. We decided that I would make a drawing throughout the video and that this would add movement and intimacy to an otherwise still composition. As we worked, we thought of Walter Wick’s classic I Spy books, the Nancy Drew computer games Silken [Weinberg, creative director] and I both grew up playing (and still play) and the notion of collecting ‘treasure’ as a child. Shot on digicam, we wanted to contrast the crisp outdoors captured in ‘They Quiet the Room’ with a warm, candle lit, home-footage-esque interior. Through the window, we see a deeply personal moment, one that I felt I had experienced before, alone but surrounded by objects I’ve carried with me.”

Check them out below.

‘Quiet The Room’ Tracklisting:
1. They Quiet the Room
2. Building a Swing
3. Whatever Fits Together
4. Whistle of the Dead
5. Lullaby in February
6. Pass Through Me
7. Could it be the way I look at everything?
8. Outside, playing
9. It’s Like a Secret
10. Sticker
11. Window Somewhere
12. (secret instrumental)
13. Quiet the Room
14. You are my House

See Skullcrusher live at the following dates:

31 - London, UK - Omeara

02 - Salisbury, UK - End of the Road Festival
03 - Manchester, UK - Manchester Psych Fest

17 - Los Angeles, CA - Masonic Lodge at Hollywood Forever

11 - Washington, DC - DC9*
12 - Philadelphia, PA - Johnny Brenda’s*
13 - Brooklyn, NY - Elsewhere
15 - Kingston, NY - Tubby’s
16 - Montréal, QC - Bar Le ‘Ritz’ P.D.B.*
17 - Toronto, ON - The Garrison*
19 - Bloomington, IN - The Bishop*
20 - Chicago, IL - Sleeping Village*
30 - San Francisco, CA - Cafe Du Nord*

02 - Seattle, WA - Barboza*
03 - Portland, OR - Polaris Hall*

*with support from Babehoven


Subscribe to DIY

Buy Now

More like this