Watch Julien Chang shares new track ‘Snakebit’

Photo: Roxy Blocksdorf

Lifted from his new album ‘The Sale’.

Ahead of the release of his new album ‘The Sale’ on 4th November on Transgressive Records, Julien Chang is sharing his latest single ‘Snakebite’.

“Snakebit emerged during a period of transformation. This was around the time I left Baltimore for University in the middle of New Jersey” Julien says. “The awkwardness of the transition and the discomfort of “growing pains” provoked in me a kind of creative agitation which found its outlet most decisively in this song. But the song is not only about changing. It is also about encountering change: in a reflective turn, encountering myself who is changing and then interrogating him, testing the limits of the ‘new me’ before finding that I am really not so different.”

Speaking on the video, he adds, “The song takes the form of a self-interrogation. I have changed, but how? and when? Why? This video simulates the fragmented, unfocused, and self-contradictory search for clues that one falls into trying to answer. Taken as a whole, the animations all seem to go together on a single string, but examined individually, it is clear that what binds them is not any logical order. In this sense, the video has the structure of a dream. While dreaming, a rapid sequence of freely-associated images and events seems to make perfect sense. It is only upon sober reflection the following morning that these images and events become absurd, random, and nonsensical.”

Check it out now below.

‘The Sale’ Tracklisting:
1. Heart Holiday
2. Marmalade
3. Sweet Obsolete
4. Snakebit Side
5. Snakebit
6. Time & Place
7. Bellarose
8. Ethical Exceptions
9. Crossed Paths
10. Queen Of Sheba
11. Competition’s Friend


Subscribe to DIY

Buy Now

More like this