News Dave Rowntree announces debut album ‘Radio Songs’

The Blur drummer has also shared his latest single ‘Devil’s Island’.

After sharing his debut solo single ‘London Bridge’ earlier this year, Blur’s Dave Rowntree has announce that his debut album ‘Radio Songs’ will be out on 20th January via Cooking Vinyl.

“The idea of ‘Radio Songs’ is me spinning through the dial,” he explains. “It sounds like you’ve got a radio tuned to some static and you spin the dial, and the song pops out of it. And then you spin the dial again, and the song dissolves back into the static.”

Alongside the news, Dave is also sharing new single ‘Devil’s Island’. “I grew up in the UK in the 1970s and while there were definitely good points about the decade, I also remember how toxic it could be,” he notes. “The country was deeply divided, and racism and misogyny were the norm. The economy was a basket case, and at one point we had to be bailed out by the IMF [International Monetary Fund]. However, listening to some people, you’d think it was a golden age to which we should yearn to return.

“This song is a note to self, to remind me how far we’ve come in forty years.”

Check it out below.

‘Radio Songs’ Tracklisting:
1. Devil’s Island
2. Downtown
3. London Bridge
4. 1000 Miles
5. HK
6. Tape Measure
7. Machines Like Me
8. Black Sheep
9. Volcano
10. Who’s Asking