Listen: Hurts Premiere New Single ‘Miracle’

Hurts are back in typically understated fashion. Only joking! Check out their bombastic new single on DIY now.

Everybody hurts, sometimes. Especially on 11th March 2013 – for that is when sort of operatic pop titans Hurts are set to unveil (probably rather flamboyantly; we’d expect some kind of velvet curtain) their second album ‘Exile’.

Even that title has a bit of pomp about it, doesn’t it? ‘Exile’ – buy our album or bugger off, but with a thesaurus. Glorious.

This morning the band gave fans (and other people, obviously - Ed) the chance to hear the first cut from the album - new single ‘Miracle’. Receiving it’s first play on Huw Stephens’ breakfast show takeover, it’s a typically dramatic, bombastic affair. With the lyric ‘No love, no life, no end in sight,’ it’s not quite as dark as it may sound, mixing the expected operatic stylings with an oddly uplifting refrain.

You can check out ‘Miracle’ below:

Hurts are set to take to the road next month. After a pair of shows in London and Berlin in February, they’ll head out to Europe before returning for shows in Manchester and Glasgow. Their live schedule in full reads:


07 London, Heaven

09 Berlin, Postbahnhof


14 Cologne, Essigfabrik

15 Munich, Theaterfabrik

16 Hamburg, Uebel & Gefaehrlich

18 Stockholm, Strand

20 Warsaw, Palladium

23 Zurich, Kaufleuten

25 Milan, Magazzini Generali

27 Vienna, Arena

28 Prague, Lucerna Music Bar

30 Amsterdam, Melkweg


01 Manchester, Academy 2

02 Glasgow, Garage

‘Exile’ will be the follow up to Hurts’ massively successful debut album ‘Happiness’. The band have now clocked up over 2,000,000 sales worldwide, so if you’re a bit skint, head down to the stage door at one of the shows and ask if you can borrow a tenner. If they say no, they’re just being rude.

More like this