Pet Shop Boys Announce New Album, ‘Electric’

The follow up to ‘Elysium’ is their first record for new label, Kobalt

The Pet Shop Boys have announced their departure from Parlophone, who they originally signed with in 1985, and will release their new record, ‘Electric’ this summer via Kobalt.

Kobalt recently handled the release of Nick Cave And The Bad Seeds’ ‘Push The Sky Away’, and are a label that deals with the marketing and release of records, whilst the artist maintains the rights to the masters, which may explain the movement of Tennant and Lowe.

‘Electric’ has been produced by Stuart Price (Kylie Minogue, The Killers), and will be released in June. The band have also confirmed that they will be touring the record this year, including a night at London’s O2 Arena, on June 18th and Manchester Arena on June 20th.

In a statement, Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe said; ‘“This is a very exciting point in our careers. We are hugely proud of the new album and are very pleased to be working in conjunction with Kobalt. We’d like to thank everyone we’ve worked with at Parlophone over the last 28 years both in the UK and abroad. When we signed to the label in 1985 we had no idea how long and successful a relationship we were embarking on. However it is also exciting now to commence a new phase working with a new team in a new business structure and we look forward to a creative and equally fulfilling relationship with Kobalt.”

The Pet Shop Boys four UK have had worldwide album sales of 50 million, as well as over 40 Top 30 singles, and 4 UK number ones.

Watch a trailer for ‘Electric’ below: