New music guide The Neu Bulletin (Nico Yaryan, Yellow Days, Lucy Camp & more)

DIY’s essential, weekly guide to the best new music.

Neu Bulletins are DIY’s guide to the best new music. They contain every single thing that’s been played at full volume in the office, whether that’s a small handful or a gazillion acts. Just depends how good the week’s been.

Alongside our weekly round-up of discoveries, there are also Neu Picks. These are the very best songs / bands to have caught our attention, and there’s a new one every weekday. Catch up with the most recent picks here.

Photo: Nico Yaryan

Jadu Heart - Warm Magic

Guernsey producer Mura Masa has set up his own label, where buzzy acts take their first steps in the capable hands of an established act. Jadu Heart’s ‘Wanderflower’ EP is the first to be released on AP Sound, nodding to Purity Ring and Sales, all eyes on delicate and experimental pop.

Birthday - Do It All The Time

Birthday are a new duo consisting of Fake Laugh (Kamran Khan) and producer LUKA. Kam’s previously applied his vocals to simple, doting indie-pop. ‘Do It All The Time’ is the complete opposite, doused in reverb and playful effects. The result is a song that blends Hawaii pop cassettes with layers and layers of chopping beats.

Nico Yaryan - Just Tell Me

Seemingly lifted straight out of a by-gone era, Nico Yaryan’s latest sees him cement his place amongst singer-songwriters supreme. “I been making you wait so long, does it feel like I’ve come and gone? Tell me baby, are we still on?” he implores, but he needn’t worry - this retro aesthetic isn’t one that’s susceptible to the ravages of time.

Acid Tongue - I Died Dreaming

On the title-track of his latest album as Acid Tongue, Charlie Manson gets raucous. Taking the woozier-than-a-whole-bottle-of-Calpol, Mac DeMarco-indebted slacker template and scuzzing it up tenfold, ‘I Died Dreaming’ deals a much needed shot of adrenaline to the ever-growing pool of hazy one-man-band sensations.

The Night Café - Time

Nobody deals in tropical indie-pop quite like The Night Café anymore. Deftly filling that post-Bombay, gaping hole in the summer soundtrack on latest track ‘Time’, as the temperature rises, so too do The Night Café’s chances of becoming festival mainstays.

Yellow Days - Little Palace

Make no mistake, King Krule paved the way for a flock of big-voiced talents willing to fuck around with rough-around-the-edges instrumentation, and this is a very good thing. Yellow Days is the latest to bear the comparison. George van der Broek possesses an almighty voice. It’s the kind that could smash windows and win hearts in the same swoop. ‘Little Palace’ is his first glance at a kingdom that lies ahead.

Cold Collective - Away From You

Tim Landers’ unmistakeable voice carries his latest project Cold Collective. The Transit and Misser man’s latest takes that Americana-infused punk-rock influence and hits the ground running. Laced in more bite and sharper hooks than ever before, it’s an instantly infectious next step from one of modern emo’s most prolific.

Lucy Camp - Sixteen

Josh at Crack in the Road pointed us towards ‘Sixteen’, a fascinating track from new rapper Lucy Camp. She builds on a Burial sample (how someone hasn’t thought of borrowing from the enigmatic producer before, we’ll never know), delivering blink-and-you-missed-it lines without the hint of a stumble.

Tags: Yellow Days, Listen, Features, Neu, Neu Bulletin

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

May 2024

With Rachel Chinouriri, A.G. Cook, Yannis Philippakis, Wasia Project and more!

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY