News Arctic Monkeys announce seventh album ‘The Car’

Photo: Zackery Michael

It follows 2018’s ‘Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino’.

Four years on since the release of their last LP ‘Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino’, Arctic Monkeys have announced that their seventh studio album ‘The Car’ will be released on 21st October.

It follows the group previewing new LP cut ‘I Ain’t Quite Where I Think I Am’ live in Zurich last night, 23rd August, and was recorded at Butley Priory, Suffolk, RAK Studios, London and La Frette, Paris.

Speaking to The Big Issue, Alex Turner said “on this record, sci-fi is off the table. We are back to earth”.

“I think we’ve got closer to a better version of a more dynamic overall sound with this record,” he continued. “The strings on this record come in and out of focus and that was a deliberate move and hopefully everything has its own space. There’s time the band comes to the front and then the strings come to the front.”

Check out the track list below.

‘The Car’ Tracklisting:
1. There’d Better Be A Mirrorball
2. I Ain’t Quite Where I Think I Am
3. Sculptures Of Anything Goes
4. Jet Skis On The Moat
5. Body Paint
6. The Car
7. Big Ideas
8. Hello You
9. Mr Schwartz
10. Perfect Sense

Tags: Arctic Monkeys, News

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Read More

DIY's Tracks of 2022

DIY’s Tracks of 2022

From The 1975 to Shygirl; Arctic Monkeys to Ethel Cain; Yeah Yeah Yeahs to My Chemical Romance, here are the tracks we had on repeat this year.

Latest Issue

March 2023

Featuring Fall Out Boy, Sleaford Mods, Black Honey, Meet Me @ The Altar and more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY