Eno-ing me, Eno-ing you: Brian Eno announces new album ‘The Ship’

It’ll feature a Velvet Underground cover, and a guest spot from funny-man Peter Serafinowicz.

Ambient musician extraordinaire Brian Eno has shared details of his latest album. Pencilled in for an April 29th release, ‘The Ship’ - his first solo record since 2012’s ‘LUX’ - sees the one-time Roxy Music member slipping back into his old avant-garde ways.

Said to have been “conceived from experiments with three-dimensional recording techniques and formed in two, interconnected parts”, it also boasts a cover of The Velvet Underground’s 1969 track ‘I’m Set Free’.

Lou Reed homages aside, the album’s most notable feature is a poem read by funnyman Peter Serafinowicz. And with the “sinking of the Titanic, some First World War soldiers songs, various bits of cyber-bureaucracy and warnings about hacking” forming the basis for the poem, you can expect it to be a far cry from the comedian’s myriad guest spots in UK sitcoms. The tracklist is as follows:

‘The Ship’:
01 ‘The Ship’
02 ‘Fickle Sun’
(i) ‘Fickle Sun’
(ii) ‘The Hour Is Thin’
(iii) ‘I’m Set Free’

Eno’s new album ‘The Ship’ will be available on transparent vinyl and as a Collector’s Edition CD. Ooer, fancy.

Tags: Brian Eno, News

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Read More

Brian Eno - The Ship

Brian Eno - The Ship

Musically the album sees Eno creating a sound that’s frequently panoramic and dislocating.