Listen: Parquet Courts announce new album ‘Wide Awake!’

They’ve shared ‘Almost Had To Start A Fight/ In And Out Of Patience’ from the Danger Mouse-produced record.

Parquet Courts have announced their new album!

‘Wide Awake!’ – the follow-up to 2016’s ‘Human Performance’ – is out on 18th May. It’s been written by Andrew Savage and Austin Brown, and produced by Danger Mouse. As reported by Pitchfork, Savage said: “I personally liked the fact that I was writing a record that indebted to punk and funk, and [Danger Mouse]’s a pop producer who’s made some very polished records […] I liked that it didn’t make sense”.

As well as announcing the new album, the band have also shared its lead track, ‘Almost Had To Start A Fight/ In And Out Of Patience’, accompanied by visuals from Andrew himself. As its title suggests, it’s a track of two different halves.

Back in December we caught up with Parquet Courts to discuss their new, hardcore-influenced new album with Andrew Savage. Read the full interview here.

Listen to ‘Almost Had To Start A Fight/ In And Out Of Patience’ and see the tracklisting for ‘Wide Awake!’ below.

01. Total Football
02. Violence
03. Before the Water Gets Too High
04. Mardi Gras Beads
05. Almost Had to Start a Fight/In and Out of Patience
06. Freebird II
07. Normalization
08. Back to Earth
09. Wide Awake
10. NYC Observation
11. Extinction
12. Death Will Bring Change
13. Tenderness

Tags: Parquet Courts, Listen, News

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Read More

Alive & Kicking: Parquet Courts

Alive & Kicking: Parquet Courts

What do you do when you’re heading into your 7th album and 2nd decade as a band? If you’re Parquet Courts, then you go out clubbing, take a load of psychedelics and carry on your sweet contrarian way.