Coming soon Perfume Genius announces new album ‘Ugly Season’

The record is an accompaniment to Mike Hadreas’ dance piece ‘The Sun Still Burns Here’.

Perfume Genius has announced details of a new album based on his dance piece ‘The Sun Still Burns Here’.

The album, ‘Ugly Season’, will be released on June 17th via Matador alongside a short film directed by Jacolby Satterwhite. It follows 2020’s ‘Set My Heart On Fire Immediately’.

“This project is the genesis of a whole new direction that I’m taking, one that I’ve been thinking about within this endemic culture, since 2020,” Satterwhite said.

“Mike [Hadreas, aka Perfume Genius] and I are both writing scripts. My visual narrative serendipitously mirrors the lyrical direction in his music; it’s a rare, like-minded bond. It’s a creation myth. How do you architecturally mould and render an idealised version of utopia? It’s about making something that you desire so beyond your scope that it’s hard to grapple into a concrete form.”

See the artwork and tracklist for ‘Ugly Season’ below.

Perfume Genius announces new album 'Ugly Season'

1. Just a Room
2. Herem
3. Teeth
4. Pop Song
5. Scherzo
6. Ugly Season
7. Eye in the Wall
8. Photograph
9. Hellbent
10. Cenote

Tags: Perfume Genius, News

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Read More