Listen Rina Sawayama releases ‘Catch Me In The Air’

It’s the latest preview of new album ‘Hold The Girl’.

With her eagerly-awaited new album ‘Hold The Girl’ set for release on 2nd September via Dirty Hit, Rina Sawayama is releasing her newest single ‘Catch Me In The Air’.

“‘Catch Me In The Air’ was written in between lockdowns with Oscar Scheller and Gracey,” Rina explains. “I wanted the whole song to sound like it was on an Irish coastline, like a Corrs video. We put in a key change to go into the chorus, at the end of the pre-chorus to make it lift and soar like a bird. I then worked on it more with Clarence before taking it to Stuart Price. This was the first song that Stuart and I worked on together, and it was the most incredible experience. I’m such a huge fan of his work with Madonna and Kylie so it was a dream come true. We would send each other stock images of coastlines, people doing yoga on a pier, meditating in the middle of a field, hay bales, etc. to get inspired sonically.”

Check it out below.

See Rina Sawayama live at the following dates:

21 - Southwold, England - Latitude Festival

05 - Katowice, Poland - OFF Festival
20 - Osaka, Japan - Summer Sonic Osaka
21 - Tokyo, Japan - Summersonic Festival

03 - Stradbally, Republic of Ireland - Electric Picnic

12 - Glasgow, Scotland - SWG3
13 - Glasgow, Scotland - SWG3
15 - Dublin, Republic of Ireland - Olympia Theatre
18 - Nottingham, England - Rock City
20 - Manchester, England - Manchester Academy
21 - Birmingham, England - O2 Academy Birmingham
23 - Brighton, East Sussex, England - Brighton Dome
26 - London, England - O2 Academy Brixton

Tags: Rina Sawayama, Listen, News

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Read More

DIY's Tracks of 2022

DIY’s Tracks of 2022

From The 1975 to Shygirl; Arctic Monkeys to Ethel Cain; Yeah Yeah Yeahs to My Chemical Romance, here are the tracks we had on repeat this year.