Watch Rina Sawayama releases video for ‘Hold The Girl’

It’s the title track of her forthcoming new album.

With her new album ‘Hold The Girl’ set for release on 16th September via Dirty Hit, Rina Sawayama is releasing the video for the title track.

Directed by Ali Kurr, the video acts as a “metaphor for Rina’s emotional breakthrough in therapy” which inspired her to write the song.

“’Hold the Girl’ was the first song I wrote for the record at the end of 2020–I had gone to therapy and had a revelation, so I decided to write this song…that was the start of it,” Rina explains. “I was crying before going into the studio to write about it.”

Check out the video below.

‘Hold The Girl’ Tracklisting:
1. Minor Feelings
2. Hold The Girl
3. This Hell
4. Catch Me In The Air
5. Forgiveness
6. Holy (Til You Let Me Go)
7. Your Age
8. Imagining
9. Frankenstein
10. Hurricanes
11. Send My Love To John
12. Phantom
13. To Be Alive

See Rina Sawayama live at the following dates:

20 - Osaka, Japan - Summer Sonic Osaka
21 - Tokyo, Japan - Summersonic Festival

03 - Stradbally, Republic of Ireland - Electric Picnic

12 - Glasgow, Scotland - SWG3
13 - Glasgow, Scotland - SWG3
15 - Dublin, Republic of Ireland - Olympia Theatre
18 - Nottingham, England - Rock City
20 - Manchester, England - Manchester Academy
21 - Birmingham, England - O2 Academy Birmingham
23 - Brighton, East Sussex, England - Brighton Dome
26 - London, England - O2 Academy Brixton

01 - New York City, Brooklyn Mirage
04 - Boston, Roadrunner
05 - Maryland, The Fillmore Silver Spring
06 -North Carolina, The Fillmore Charlotte
08 - Atlanta, The Eastern
09 - Nashville, Marathon Music Works
11 - Dallas, House Of Blues
12 - Austin, Emo’s
13 - Houston, White Oak Music Hall
16 - Phoenix, The Van Buren
18 - San Diego, SOMA
21 - Oakland, Fox Theater
23 - Los Angeles, Hollywood Palladium

Tags: Rina Sawayama, Watch, News

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Read More

DIY's Tracks of 2022

DIY’s Tracks of 2022

From The 1975 to Shygirl; Arctic Monkeys to Ethel Cain; Yeah Yeah Yeahs to My Chemical Romance, here are the tracks we had on repeat this year.