News The Lounge Society announce debut album ‘Tired Of Liberty’

Photo: Alex Evans

They’ve also shared new track ‘Blood Money’.

Set for release on 26th August via Speedy Wunderground, The Lounge Society have announced their debut album ‘Tired Of Liberty’.

Releasing new track ‘Blood Money’ alongside the news, the band say, “Blood Money is a reaction to the culture of greed that’s seeping into the corridors of power across the world. It’s a reminder that ultimately, we all suffer at the hands of self-serving elites, and it’s our personal perspective on the effects of dirty politics on the everyday lives of ourselves and people we know. For us it’s a song that completely captures this record and us as a band. It feels like the perfect development from our previous releases to our debut album and exactly how this record should be introduced. The balance of driving guitar riffs and the groove of the drums and bass is sort of a snapshot of the album. We’d never claim to be a purely dance based band and we’d never claim to be a purely guitar riff-based band because it’s the combination of the two which excites us. On Blood Money it felt like in the studio we took our sound to a different level. We approached the album recording in a totally fresh way to how we have recorded in the past and we got exactly what we wanted. We had good friends & Speedy label mates of ours Anouska (Honeyglaze) and Jojo (Heartworms) do some extra vocals in the chorus, and it really elevated it and gave it an almost operatic feel which was amazing to see develop in the studio.”

Check it out below.

‘Tired Of Liberty’ Tracklisting:
1. People Are Scary
2. Blood Money
3. No Driver
4. Beneath The Screen
5. North Is Your Heart
6. Last Breath
7. Remains
8. Boredom Is A Drug
9. It’s Just A Ride
10. Upheaval
11. Generation Game

See The Lounge Society live at the following dates:

24 - Float Along Festival, Sheffield, UK
25 – Bodega, Nottingham, UK
26 – Broadcast, Glasgow, UK
27 – Sneaky Petes, Edinburgh, UK
29 – Brudenell, Leeds, UK
30 – Gorilla, Manchester, UK

02 – Patterns, Brighton, UK
04 – Village Underground, London, UK
06 – Joiners, Southampton, UK
08 – Trades Club, Hebden Bridge, UK

The Lounge Society will play The Great Escape, which takes place 11th May - 14th May 2022, Wide Awake, which takes place 27th May - 28th May 2022, and Live at Leeds: In The Park, which takes place 4th June 2022. DIY is an official media partner. Tickets are on sale now.

Tags: The Lounge Society, Watch, News

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Read More