Confirmed Clap Your Hands Say Yeah announce new album ‘New Fragility’

Clap Your Hands Say Yeah announce new album ‘New Fragility’

And to celebrate they’re sharing two brand new songs!

Three years on since their last album ‘The Tourist’, Clap Your Hands Say Yeah have announced that their new album ‘New Fragility’ will be out on 29th January.

Sharing two brand new singles to celebrate the news, Alec Ounsworth says of ‘Hesitating Nation’ and ‘Thousand Oaks’, “These songs are politically motivated, which is unusual for me. The only other politically motivated song I’ve written is [2005 self-titled debut album track] ‘Upon This Tidal Wave of Young Blood’.”

“‘Hesitating Nation’ is a song meant to convey my sense of disappointment and alienation with the rewarded mentality of getting ahead at all costs, inevitably to the detriment of those who didn’t sign up to be part of the experiment.” He continues of the inspiration behind the tracks. “In 2018, there was a shooting in Thousand Oaks, CA which killed 13 people. This song has to do with the impotence of the American government in the face of such tragedies.”

See the full album track list below.

‘New Fragility’ Tracklisting:
1. Hesitating Nation
2. Thousand Oaks
3. Dee, Forgiven
4. New Fragility
5. Innocent Weight
6. Mirror Song
7. CYHSY, 2005
8. Where They Perform Miracles
9. Went Looking For Trouble
10. If I Were More Like Jesus

See Clap Your Hands Say Yeah live at the following dates.

18 - Brussels, Belgium - Botanique - Rotonde
19 - Amsterdam, Netherlands - Paradiso
21 - Bristol, UK - Thekla
22 - Cambridge, UK - Portland Arms
23 - Manchester, UK - YES (The Pink Room)
24 - Dublin, Ireland - Whelans
25 - Liverpool, UK - District
26 - Leeds, UK - Brudenell Social Club
28 - London, UK - Scala
29 - Paris, France - La Maroquinerie
30 - Clermont-Ferrand, France - La Cooperative de Mai

01 - Barcelona, Spain - Sala Apolo
02 - Madrid, Spain - Independence Club
04 - Nîmes, France - Paloma
12 - Berlin, Germany - Frannz Club

More like this

In The Studio with… Goat Girl

In The Studio with… Goat Girl

The South London quartet’s self-titled opener made for one of 2018’s most adventurous debuts. Heading into their imminent second, Goat Girl are older, wiser and sticking even further to their guns.

Naked Ambition: The Nude Party

Naked Ambition: The Nude Party

The Catskills sextet might deal in good, old-fashioned rock’n’roll, but amid the late nights and giddy highs we find a band prepared to knuckle down and put in the hours to keep the dream alive.

Talking ‘Bout My Generation: Will Butler

Talking ‘Bout My Generation: Will Butler

Not content with being one sixth of one of this century’s most innovative bands, Will Butler can now add ‘Harvard graduate’ and a second solo album full of curious, questioning brilliance to his CV.