AIM Awards nominees announced for 2014

London Grammar, FKA twigs and Arctic Monkeys are all up for awards at this year’s ceremony.

The nominees have been announced this evening (Tuesday 12th August) for the AIM Independent Music Awards 2014, including short lists for gongs such as Best Small Label, Best Difficult Second Album, and Hardest Working Band or Artist.

Bands nominated this year include London Grammar, FKA twigs, Arctic Monkeys, Bonobo, Twin Atlantic, Courtney Barnett, Gruff Rhys, Liars, East India Youth and Future Islands, while Domino, Marshall Teller, Secretly Canadian and National Anthem are some of the record labels up for awards.

This year, DIY once again hosted the voting for the Golden Welly Award for Best Independent Festival. The nominees are Barn on the Farm, ArcTanGent, Greenbelt, In The Woods and LeeFest. Final winners will be announced at the AIM Awards ceremony in London on 2nd September.

The full list of nominees is as follows:

Best Small Label: Sonic Cathedral, Hyperdub, National Anthem, Marshall Teller, Kissability.
Best Difficult Second Album: The Pretty Reckless (‘Gong To Hell’), Withered Hand (‘No God’), Anna Calvi (‘One Breath’), Ben Watts (‘Hendra’), Dev Hynes (‘Cupid’ Deluxe)
Special Catalogue Release: Cabaret Voltaire – Collected Works 1984-1985 (Mute), Nightmares on Wax - N.O.W. Is The Time (Warp), Here Comes The Nice (PIAS), The Twilight Sad: Fourteen Autumns & Fifteen Winters (FatCat), Purple Snow – Forecasting The Minneapolis Sound (Numero Group)
Hardest Working Band or Artist: Ghetts, Bonobo, Gabby Young, FEMME, PINS.
Golden Welly Award for Best Independent Festival: Barn on the Farm, ArcTanGent, Greenbelt, In The Woods, LeeFest.
Independent Breakthrough of the Year Award: London Grammar, Future Islands, SOHN, Young Fathers, Courtney Barnett.
Indie Champion Award: John Doran, Alex Baker, Charles Caldas, Camilla Pia, Tim & Clemence (Bird on the Wire)
Independent Video of the Year: Dan le Sac vs Scroobius Pip (‘You Will See Me’), FKA twigs (‘Water Me’), Liars (‘Mess on a Mission’), James (‘Moving On’), Royal Canoe (‘Birthday’) Best Live Act: Dan le Sac vs Scroobius Pop, London Grammar, Sophie Ellis Bextor, Bonobo, FiveFingerDeathPunch.
Independent Track of the Year: Arctic Monkeys ‘Do I Wanna Know’, FKA twigs ‘Water Me’, Future Islands ‘Seasons (Waiting on You)’, London Grammar ‘Strong’, Sampha ‘Too Much’, Twin Atlantic ‘Heart and Soul’.
Independent Album of the Year: Actress ‘Ghettoville’, Arctic Monkeys ‘AM’, East India Youth ‘Total Strife Forever’, Fred V & Grafix ‘Recognise’, Gruff Rhys ‘American Interior’, Kate Tempest ‘Everyboy Down’, London Grammar ‘If You Wait’, Mogwai ‘Rave Tapes’, TuneYards ‘Nikki Nack’, Within Temptation ‘Hydra’.
Label of the Year: Domino, Because Music, Hospital Records, Ninja Tune, Fearless Records, Secretly Canadian.

Tags: News, AIM Awards

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

July/August 2024

With Fontaines DC, Kneecap, BERWYN, Wunderhorse and many more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY