Black Country, New Road unveil ‘Bread Song’

It’s the second single taken from their hotly-anticipated new album, ‘Ants From Up There’.

Photo: Rosie Foster

With their second album ‘Ants From Up There’ set for release on 4th February via Ninja Tune, Black Country, New Road are giving us the latest taste of what to expect with new single ‘Bread Song’.

Speaking about the track, frontman Isaac Wood says: “We wanted to do the first chorus with no time signature. I went to see Steve Reich do Music for 18 Musicians and there’s a piece where a bar length is determined by the breadth of the clarinet player, they just play until they run out of breath. I wanted to try that with the whole band, where we don’t look at each other, we don’t make too many cues, we just try and play without time - but together.”

Check it out now below.

‘Ants From Up There’ Tracklisting:
1. Intro
2. Chaos Space Marine
3. Concorde
4. Bread Song
5. Good Will Hunting
6. Haldern
7. Mark’s Theme
8. The Place Where He Inserted the Blade
9. Snow Globes
10. Basketball Shoes

See Black Country, New Road live at the following dates:

08 - Roundhouse, London - UK

06 - The Foundry, Sheffield - UK
07 - O₂ Academy, Oxford - UK
09 - Liquid Room, Edinburgh - UK
10 - The Empire, Belfast - UK
11 - Olympia, Dublin - IE
13 - Albert Hall, Manchester - UK
14 - Rock City, Nottingham - UK
16 - Concorde 2, Brighton - UK
17 - O₂ Academy, Bristol – UK

Tags: Black Country New Road, News, Listen

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

May 2024

With Rachel Chinouriri, A.G. Cook, Yannis Philippakis, Wasia Project and more!

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY