Do Nothing share new video for ‘Nerve’

The track gets taken from their forthcoming debut ‘Snake Sideways’.

Do Nothing have shared another preview of their forthcoming debut album, in the form of new track ‘Nerve’.

Their latest offering follows on from previous singles ‘Moving Target’, ‘Amoeba’ and ‘Happy Feet’, and are all set to feature on their full-length ‘Snake Sideways’, which is due out on 30th June via The Orchard.

Reflecting on ‘Nerve’, the band’s vocalist Chris Bailey has said: “With ‘Nerve’ I wanted to write something nice and simple, without any trickery or anything, taking cues from people like Perfume Genius and Big Thief. I’d say it’s about the value of looking under the hood and checking what you’re really made of, even though that’s often not a very fun thing to do.

“Being expected to perform under pressure is obviously a big part of life in general, but being too sharply aware of that pressure can definitely lead to issues with self-worth, and various other sticky situations. Social media in particular can be a scary hole to fall into, especially if you don’t feel great about yourself already. This is obviously something that young people have to wrestle with much more than I ever did, and really I just wonder how the heck they manage it. I generally find it easier to frame those sorts of ideas in a way that sounds like it’s about a specific relationship or person, which is why it reads as a sad little love song.”

The track also comes accompanied by a new video, as directed by Clump Collective. Commenting on the clip, they have said: “The idea started with the basic image of Chris stuck in a park fence - inspired by Norman from Fireman Sam getting himself into a similar situation. It developed into an absurd take on being in the public eye, as the villagers leave their initial concern for Chris behind them. One-shot shoots can be stressful, with rehearsals and long takes, but everyone that worked on ‘Nerve’ smashed it. It’s a video, and team, we’re really proud of.”

Watch the video below.

The band also have a hefty run of live shows scheduled for coming months, including a handful of instore performance around the album’s release. Check out the dates below.

29 Bodega, Nottingham (Album launch party)
30 Jacaranda, Liverpool

01 NQ, Huddersfield
02 The Fighting Cocks, Kingston
03 Resident, Brighton
04 Rough Trade East, London
05 Rough Trade, Bristol
06 Crash Records, Leeds

23 Dublin, Whelans
24 Edinburgh, Sneaky Pete’s
25 Glasgow, King Tuts
26 Newcastle, The Cluny
28 Leeds, Brudenell Social Club
29 Manchester, Gorilla
30 Nottingham, Rock City

02 Cardiff, Clwb Ifor Bach
04 Bristol, Thekla
05 Birmingham, Castle & Falcon
06 London, Koko
07 Brighton, Patterns
09 Bruges, Cactus Café
10 Brussels, Botanique (Witloof Bar)
11 Amsterdam, Paradiso
13 Berlin, Privatclub
14 Copenhagen, Loppen
16 Hamburg, Nochtwache
17 Cologne, Buhmann & Sohn
18 Luxembourg, Rotondes
19 Paris, Point Ephemere
20 Tourcoing, Le Grand Mix

09 Milan, Biko
10 Bologna, Covo Club
11 Pordenone, Astro Club

Tags: Do Nothing, News, Watch

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

May 2024

With Rachel Chinouriri, A.G. Cook, Yannis Philippakis, Wasia Project and more!

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY