Four Tet is protesting Trump’s Muslim ban with a mixtape of songs from affected countries

The Spotify playlist contains tracks by artists from all seven affected nations.

Four Tet is hitting back on Donald Trump’s executive order to ban immigrant from seven Muslim-majority countries through the power of music.

Kieran Hebden compiled a mini-mixtape on Spotify that features tracks by artists from Iraq, Iran, Syria, Libya, Somalia, Sudan and Yemen. It includes a song from Iranian psych-rock pioneer Kourosh Yaghmaei and Omar Souleyman, the Syrian singer and producer whose 2013 album ‘Wenu Wenu’ was produced by Kieran.

His work with Omar apparently provided some of the initial inspiration for the playlist too. In a tweet, he said that recording with Souleyman in Brooklyn and “it not being allowed anymore got me thinking about it.”

Listen to Four Tet’s playlist below.

Get tickets to watch Four Tet live now.

Tags: Four Tet, News, Listen

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

June 2024

With Glass Animals, Los Campesinos!, Alfie Templeman, Lava La Rue and many more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY