Ibeyi announce self-titled debut album

The pair’s full-length will be released on 16th February 2015.

Photo: Emma Swann

French-Cuban twin duo Ibeyi have announced details of their debut album.

The self-titled long-player will be released on 16th February via XL, the record having been produced alongside Richard Russell at his west London studio, La Revolution.

The track listing is confirmed as:

(Side A)

1. Eleggua (Intro)
2. Oya
3. Ghosts
4. River
5. Think Of You
6. Behind The Curtain

(Side B)

7. Stranger / Lover
8. Mama Says
9. Weatherman
10. Faithful
11. Yanira
12. Singles
13. Ibeyi (Outro)

Ibeyi are featured in the November 2014 issue of DIY, where Naomi and Lisa-Kainde Diaz describe how they incorporate elements of their father’s Yorùbán culture with more modern influences - and talk about the recording of this debut.

They have also shared a video for ‘Mama Says’, as featured on the record.

Ibeyi play the Royal Festival Hall in London on 14th November, following their support slot with Damon Albarn in Paris on 12th November.

Tags: News

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

November 2023

Featuring King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard, IDLES, Tkay Maidza, Sleater-Kinney and more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY