Joy Crookes reveals the video for ‘Skin’

Her debut album title track gets some captivating visuals.

With her eagerly-awaited debut album ‘Skin’ arriving on 15th October via Insanity Records, Joy Crookes is now sharing the video for the title track, directed by Nono.

“‘Skin’ is one of my most vulnerable songs on my album so when it came to making the video, it only felt right that it was a genuine depiction of it,” explains Joy. “The song is about someone very close to me who thought life wasn’t worth living during a dark time. When it came to the video, it felt necessary to include that person in it. I asked him sincerely and I was incredibly grateful when he chose to participate. The making of the video created an ownership and healing of that difficult time we both lived through. The intensity that was generated from it being a real-life experience for the both of us translates into the video because ultimately it is real. This autobiographical way of making work is hard emotionally but undeniably my favourite way of making art. Nono was so integral in this, as not only is he a fantastic director but a sensitive and empathetic character that made telling a story as difficult as ‘Skin’, a cathartic experience.”

Watch the video now below.

‘Skin’ Tracklisting:
1. I Don’t Mind
2. 19th Floor
3. Poison
4. Trouble
5. When You Were Mine
6. To Lose Someone
7. Unlearn You
8. Kingdom
9. Feet Don’t Fail Me Now
10. Wild Jasmine
11. Skin
12. Power
13. Theek Ache

Tags: Joy Crookes, News, Watch

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

November 2023

Featuring King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard, IDLES, Tkay Maidza, Sleater-Kinney and more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY