The Hold Steady release new song ‘Heavy Covenant’

Their new album ‘Open Door Policy’ arrives next month.

Photo: Adam Parshall

With their eighth album ‘Open Door Policy’ set for release on 19th February, The Hold Steady are getting us hyped, sharing brand new track ‘Heavy Covenant’.

“‘Heavy Covenant’ is a song about travel, technology, and human connection,” says singer Craig Finn. “The song came out of two different music pieces that THS piano/keyboardist Franz Nicolay brought in, and with the help of producer Josh Kaufman, we combined them. It came together quickly, and when our friends Stuart and Jordan came in and added the horns to the chorus it really seemed to bring it together. To us, this song is a great indication of where the band’s sound is at in 2021.”

“’Open Door Policy’ was very much approached as an album vs. a collection of individual songs, and it feels like our most musically expansive record,” he adds. “This album was written and almost entirely recorded before the pandemic started, but the songs and stories explore power, wealth, mental health, technology, capitalism, consumerism, and survival – issues which have compounded in 2020.”

Listen to ‘Heavy Covenant’ below.

‘Open Door Policy’ Tracklisting:
1. The Feelers
2. Spices
3. Lanyards
4. Family Farm
5. Unpleasant Breakfast
6. Heavy Covenant
7. The Prior Procedure
8. Riptown
9. Me & Magdalena
10. Hanover Camera
11. Parade Days (Digital Only)

Get tickets to watch The Hold Steady live now.

Tags: The Hold Steady, News, Listen

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

November 2023

Featuring King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard, IDLES, Tkay Maidza, Sleater-Kinney and more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY