Sløtface share new track ‘Nose’

Their new EP ‘AWAKE / ASLEEP’ is out next month.

Ahead of the release of their new EP ‘AWAKE / ASLEEP’ on 24th February on Propeller Recordings, Norways Sløtface are sharing their new single ‘Nose’. “‘Nose’ is what I would call a pretty general ‘Sløtface anxiety’ song, a recurring theme I always come back to,” Haley Shea says. “‘Nose’ is a conversation between me and a loved one where I’m trying to use imagery to describe what anxiety feels like to someone who doesn’t experience it, how even the smallest things can trigger it and send me into a thought spiral that feels impossible to stop. The choruses are then the replies of someone I love reminding me to breathe, a tactic which usually helps me calm my thoughts, when done in the right way, by my partner, family and loved ones.​​​ “‘Nose’ started when I visited Odd Martin at his studio in Bergen in March of 2022 to write some songs. It ended up being a super-productive couple of days where we wrote about 7 different demos on the first day alone, and then chose a couple to flesh out on the second day. ‘Nose’ was the last song we tried out at the end of that second day. “The mix of the heavier, rhythmic, bass-focused verses and the big, layered, poppier choruses, all combined with saxophonist Aksel Rønning adding some extra spice, grit and depth to the whole track makes it one of our absolute favorites on the EP.” Have a listen to ‘Nose’ below. ‘AWAKE / ASLEEP’ EP Tracklisting: 1. Indoor Kid 2. Come Hell or Whatever 3. Beta 4. Cowboys in the Dark 5. AWAKE / ASLEEP 6. Friday Nights 7. Nose 8. HAPPY

Tags: Sløtface, News, Listen

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

March 2024

Featuring Green Day, English Teacher, Everything Everything, Caity Baser and more!

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY