Superchunk announce new album ‘What A Time To Be Alive’

They’ve also shared the record’s title track.

Four years on from their last record ‘I Hate Music’, Superchunk are back with details of a new album!

‘What A Time To Be Alive’ is set to be released on 16th February 2018 on Merge and, yes, the title is being kind of sarcastic (er, as was the title of the last LP. There’s a theme going on here). While ‘I Hate Music’ focused on death loss, and ageing, the new one is set to tackle anxiety and rage with all their usual punk and pop-infused cathartic energy.

Mac McCaughan says of the record: “The album is about a lot of things of course but mainly dealing with anxiety and worse in the face of incipient authoritarianism”. According the Mac, the album is “about a pretty dire and depressing situation but hopefully not a record that is dire and depressing to listen to”.

They’re previewing the record with the title track, and the band have also announced a string of American tour dates, some of which Allison Crutchfield’s band Swearin’ will join them for. See all the dates here.

Listen to ‘What A Time To Be Alive’ and see the tracklisting for the album below.

01. What a Time to Be Alive
02. Lost My Brain
03. Break the Glass
04. Bad Choices
05. Dead Photographers
06. Erasure
07. I Got Cut
08. Reagan Youth
09. Cloude of Hate
10. All For You
11. Black Thread

Tags: Superchunk, News, Listen

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

May 2024

With Rachel Chinouriri, A.G. Cook, Yannis Philippakis, Wasia Project and more!

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY