Listen: Tamino announces debut LP ‘Amir’, shares haunting new track ‘Persephone

Tamino announces debut LP 'Amir', shares haunting new track 'Persephone'

The album also includes Colin Greenwood-featuring track ‘Indigo Nights’.

Communion Records signing Tamino has announced news of his debut LP ‘Amir’, set for release through the label on October 19th.

Alongside news of the LP, the 21-year-old has also unveiled new track ‘Persephone’ - a haunting ballad of lost love based around sparse guitars and Jeff Buckley-esque melancholy, alongside an accompanying monochrome video.

Of Belgian, Egyptian and Lebanese heritage, the singer recently released debut EP ‘Habibi’ including ‘Indigo Nights’, which feature’s Radiohead’s Colin Greenwood on bass guitar. ‘Amir’ also features a backing orchestra of professional musicians predominantly comprised of refugees from Syria and Iraq.

Of the record, Tamino states: “Some of the songs on ‘Amir’ are more on the romantic side, whilst others are more on the apathetic side. In my own life, I can look at the world and at life in both ways depending on my state of being. The conflict creates an imbalance. ‘Amir’ is about balance”.

Listen to ‘Persephone’ below.

Tags: Tamino, Listen, News

Read More

Get To Know… Tamino

Get To Know… Tamino

The Antwerp-based singer has collaborated with Radiohead's Colin Greenwood on his delicate, soaring debut EP 'Habibi'.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

June 2023

Featuring Killer Mike, Grian Chatten, Maisie Peters, Dream Wife, Baxter Dury and more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY