The Decemberists announce new album ‘I’ll Be Your Girl’

They’ve also shared new track ‘Severed’.

After releasing their album ‘What A Terrible World, What A Beautiful World’ back in 2015, The Decemberists are back with details of an upcoming new album.

‘I’ll Be Your Girl’ is out on 16th March through Rough Trade Records and is set to see the Portland-based band going in a bit of a new direction, aided by producer John Congleton (who’s worked with St Vincent and Lana Del Rey). Embracing influences such as New Order and Roxy Music, the band have adopted some additional synth sounds.

Colin Meloy said: “When you’ve been a band for 17 years, inevitably there are habits you fall into. So our ambition this time was really just to get out of our comfort zone. That’s what prompted working with a different producer and using a different studio. We wanted to free ourselves from old patterns and give ourselves permission to try something different”.

That new direction is on show with their new track ‘Severed’, a track that combines deep jangling guitar lines with fuzzed-out yet clashing percussion and electronic melodies.

Listen to ‘Severed’ and see the tracklisting for ‘I’ll Be Your Girl’ below.


01. Once In My Life
02. Cutting Stone
03. Severed
04. Starwatcher
05. Tripping Along
06. Your Ghost
07. Everything Is Awful
08. Sucker’s Prayer
09. We All Die Young
10. Rusalka, Rusalka / The Wild Rushes
11. I’ll Be Your Girl

Tags: The Decemberists, News, Listen

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

November 2023

Featuring King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard, IDLES, Tkay Maidza, Sleater-Kinney and more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY