Wicketkeeper announce debut album ‘Shonk’

And they’re sharing new track ‘The Side’ too!

Photo: Jo Bongard

London/Margate trio Wicketkeeper have confirmed that their debut LP ‘Shonk’ will be arriving on 16th October via Meritorito Records, and they’re sharing brand new track ‘The Side’ to get us all excited.

Speaking on the new song, the band’s Simon Morley says, “Have you ever seen someone in a crowd and recognised them, but then realised it’s because they look like you? I have, it probably says something about my ego tbh. One of my favourite songs to play live because it’s got a real loose breezy vibe, which suits my, erm ‘style’ of ‘drumming’! The lyrics swing quite erratically from droll arrogance to romantic realism, with a sprinkling of Michael McIntyre-esque observational comedy (facepalm).”

See the full track list and listen to the new song below.

‘Shonk’ Tracklisting:
1. A Lot To Lose
2. I Can’t Believe
3. The Side
4. Over and Over
5. Night Night (Whatever)
6. Modest Breakfast
7. Wired
8. Bodies
9. Feeling
10. Spin
11. Welcome
12. Tired
13. OK
14. Cigarettes

Tags: Wicketkeeper, News, Watch

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

November 2023

Featuring King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard, IDLES, Tkay Maidza, Sleater-Kinney and more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY