Listen: Rostam announces debut album ‘Half-Light’, shares ‘Bike Dream’

The record comes out in September via Nonesuch.

Vampire Weekend’s Rostam Batmanglij has announced details of his debut solo album as Rostam. ‘Half-Light’ is coming out in September via Nonesuch and being previewed by new single ‘Bike Dream’.

The latest cut follows thoroughly impressive first single ‘Gwan’ in previewing the new album, out on 8th September.

Talking about the album in a press release, Rostam says: “It wasn’t until I had almost finished this album and was trying to decide what I should call it that I took the time to look up the word ’half-light’.

“That lyric, and a large part of that song “Half-Light,” had come to me in a stream of consciousness sitting in front of a piano years ago, captured in a voice memo on my phone.

“I had never stopped to figure out what that word meant exactly. But when I read its definition, and found that it had a double meaning—that it referred to both dawn and dusk—I started to think of how those times of day are part of so many lyrics on this album.”

View the album’s tracklisting and listen to ‘Bike Dream’ below.

01 Sumer
02 Bike Dream
03 Half-Light f. Kelly Zutrau
04 Thatch Snow
05 Wood
06 Never Going To Catch Me
07 Don’t Let It Get To You
08 I Will See You Again
09 Hold You f. Angel Deradoorian
10 When
11 Rudy
12 Warning Intruders
13 EOS
14 Gwan
15 Don’t Let It Get To You (Reprise)


Subscribe to DIY

Buy Now

More like this

Rostam: The Only Constant Is Change

Rostam: The Only Constant Is Change

Solo artist, super producer and chart-topping band alumni, Rostam Batmanglij isn’t short of accolades these days. ‘Changephobia’ is the latest notch on his musical bedpost.