Animal Collective share 22-minute epic, ‘Defeat’

The experimental quartet have released a mammoth new single celebrating resilience and hope against the odds.

Photo: Hisham Akira Bharoocha

Produced by Russell Elevado (Kamasi Washingyon, The Roots) and featuring guest musicians Samara Lubelski (violin), Leila Bordreuil (cello) and Ben Chapoteau-Katz (saxophone), ‘Defeat’ is an undulating track which heroes collaboration on both a practical and thematic level.

It follows the release of Avey Tare’s latest solo album earlier this year, and centres around our collective need to “[stay] grounded like the spruce”, even in the face of seismic change.

The single will be released as a limited edition 12-inch on 25th August via Domino, and will feature the fan-inspired ‘The Challenge (Live Edit)’ as a B-side.

Initially an improv performance piece, Animal Collective member Geologist explains that ‘The Challenge’ evolved into a studio track when fans began “recording, uploading and listening to [that particular section of] the shows each night”.

Listen to ‘Defeat’ (all 22 minutes of it) below.

Tags: Animal Collective, News, Listen

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

June 2024

With Glass Animals, Los Campesinos!, Alfie Templeman, Lava La Rue and many more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY