Biffy Clyro announce surprise project ‘The Myth Of The Happily Ever After’

Listen to new track ‘Unknown Male 01’ now.

Following the release of ‘A Celebration Of Endings’ last year, Biffy Clyro are celebrating their latest Number One with brand new project ‘The Myth Of The Happily Ever After’.

Set for release on 22nd October, the record is a homegrown project that represents a reaction to ‘A Celebration Of Endings’ and a “rapid emotional response to the turmoil of the past year”.

“This is a reaction to ‘A Celebration of Endings’,” says vocalist/guitarist Simon Neil. “This album is a real journey, a collision of every thought and emotion we’ve had over the past eighteen months. There was a real fortitude in ‘A Celebration’ but in this record we’re embracing the vulnerabilities of being a band and being a human in this twisted era of our lives. Even the title is the polar opposite. It’s asking, do we create these narratives in our own minds to give us some security when none of us know what’s waiting for us at the end of the day?”

Sharing first track ‘Unknown Male 01’ today, Simon adds, “When you lose people that you love deeply and have been a big part of your life, it can make you question every single thing about your own life. Like a lot of creative people, I struggle with dark thoughts. If you’re that way inclined you realise you’re staring at darkness, but you don’t want to succumb. Those moments don’t stop. As the song says, ‘The devil never leaves.’ There’s never a day where you wake up thinking, ‘I feel great, it won’t cross me ever again.’”

Check it out below.

‘The Myth of the Happily Ever After’ Tracklisting:
1. ‘DumDum’
2. ‘A Hunger in Your Haunt’
3. ‘Denier’
4. ‘Separate Missions’
5. ‘Witch’s Cup’
6. ‘Holy Water’
7. ‘Errors in the History of God’
8. ‘Haru Urara’
9. ‘Unknown Male 01’
10. ‘Existed’
11. ‘Slurpy Slurpy Sleep Sleep’

Tags: Biffy Clyro, News, Listen

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

July/August 2024

With Fontaines DC, Kneecap, BERWYN, Wunderhorse and many more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY