Brand New’s Jesse Lacey is releasing new material with Kevin Devine

The elusive frontman has been added to Devine’s vinyl splits series.

Photo: Sarah Louise Bennett

The whereabouts of that Brand New album might not be any clearer, but Jesse Lacey’s still up to something - he seems to have joined his old pal Kevin Devine’s split series for a new vinyl release.

Devine’s ‘Devinyl splits’ series has so far seen him pair up with Meredith Graves, Tigers Jaw, Cymbals Eat Guitars and American Football/Owen frontman Mike Kinsella for releases, and this weekend Devine hosted three shows to celebrate the project. On sale at those shows was a limited commemorative poster, which gave the game away as to the identity of the last participant - none other than Brand New’s Mr. Jesse Lacey.

But wait, that’s not all! The longtime friends also took to the stage together this weekend, to perform some Brand New tracks backed by Devine’s The God Damn Band (not to be confused with God Damn, okay?). Watch footage of ‘Okay I Believe You, But My Tommy Gun Don’t’, new single ‘Mene’ and a cover of Nirvana’s ‘Lithium’ below.

Tags: Brand New, Kevin Devine, News

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

May 2024

With Rachel Chinouriri, A.G. Cook, Yannis Philippakis, Wasia Project and more!

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY