Death Cab For Cutie announce ‘The Blue EP’, share first track ‘Kids in ‘99’

The five-track record will be out in September!

Photo: Eliot Lee Hazel

Indie legends Death Cab For Cutie have announced some brand new music following last year’s ninth studio album, ‘Thank You For Today’. Sharing the news today, the group will release ‘The Blue EP’ in September and are dropping the first track ‘Kids In ‘99’ today.

Written in tribute for the three children who lost their lives during the 1999 Bellingham Olympic Pipeline explosion in Seattle, Ben Gibbard said on the inspiration behind this track: “The Olympic Pipeline explosion in 1999 was a tragedy that really affected me while we were living in Bellingham. After all these years I felt it was worthy of its own folk song.”

Have a listen to the poignant new song, and see the full tracklist for ‘The Blue EP’ below:


1. To The Ground

2. Kids in ’99

3. Man In Blue

4. Before The Bombs

5. Blue Bloods

Get tickets to watch Death Cab for Cutie live now.

Tags: Death Cab for Cutie, News, Listen

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

June 2024

With Glass Animals, Los Campesinos!, Alfie Templeman, Lava La Rue and many more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY