Listen to Death Cab For Cutie’s new album ‘Thank You For Today’ in full

The record is out this Friday (17th August) via Atlantic.

Photo: Jenn Five

Death Cab For Cutie’s new album ‘Thank You For Today’ is out on Friday (17th August), and the whole thing is streaming online in advance!

The record - the band’s first since 2015’s ‘Kintsugi’ - is streaming on NPR’s First Listen.

We spoke to the band recently about all things ‘Thank You For Today’ in a piece taken from the July issue of the mag.

“If we were sitting here and this was not 2018 but 2025, if we had gone through six or seven producers and multiple collaborators, and we made a shit pile of a record, y’know, we’d probably be thinking that we should hang this up, it’s not working anymore,” Ben Gibbard told us in the chat.

“[But] I’m really happy with how this album’s turned out and I’m feeling fairly confident that there are a number of songs on this record which will remind people why they liked or loved the band in the first place. I feel like this record is more in tune with the spirit of the first four albums than the last two, or even three.”

Read the interview in full here and view the band’s upcoming European tour dates below.

Listen to ‘Thank You For Today’ in full here.

24 Dublin, Olympia Theatre
25 Manchester, Albert Hall
26 Glasgow, O2 Academy
28 Nottingham, Rock City
29 Leeds, O2 Academy
30 Bristol, O2 Academy

01 London, Hammersmith Apollo
02 Paris, Le Trianon
03 Antwerp, De Roma
05 Utrecht, Tivoli Vrendenburg
06 Cologne, Live Music Hall
07 Berlin, ASTRA Kulturhaus
09 Hamburg, Grosse Freiheit
10 Copenhagen, Vega
11 Stockholm, Cirkus
12 Oslo, Sentrum Scene

Tags: Death Cab For Cutie, News

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

September 2023

Featuring James Blake, Romy, Marika Hackman, yeule and more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY