Listen: Shabazz Palaces Streams ‘They Come In Gold’ From ‘Lese Majesty’ LP

New album comes out through Sub Pop this May - listen to Ishmael Butler’s lead track now.

Ishmael Butler’s Shabazz Palaces have announced their new album ‘They Come In Gold’. Following up 2011’s ‘Black Up’, ‘Lese Majesty’ comes out 28th July via Sub Pop.

Lead track ‘They Come In Gold’ is streaming now, mixing Butler’s under-ether aesthetic with future-leaning production and razor-sharp minimalism.

Seattle publication The Stranger recently saw the new album showcased in full at the Pacific Science Center’s Laser, declaring it to be the ‘future of hip-hop’. ‘They Come In Gold’ backs up that theory in some senses, and ‘Lese Majesty’ is available to pre-order on US iTunes here.

Purchase ‘They Come In Gold’ on iTunes.

Update: ‘Lese Majesty’ is split into 18 tracks, spread across 7 ‘suites’. Check out the tracklist below.

Shabazz Palaces, ‘They Come In Gold’:

Suite 1: “The Phasing Shift”:
1. “Dawn In Luxor”
2. “Forerunner Foray”
3. “They Come In Gold”

Suite 2: “Touch & Agree”:
4. “Solemn Swears”
5. “Harem Aria”
6. “Noetic Noiromantics”
7. “The Ballad of Lt. Major Winnings”

Suite 3: “Palace War Council Meeting”:
8. “Soundview”
9. “Ishmael”
10. “Down 155th In The MCM Snorkel”

Suite 4: “Pleasure Milieu”:
11. “Divine Of Form”
12. “#Cake”

Suite 5: “Federal Bureau Boys”:
13. “Colluding Oligarchs”
14. “Suspicion Of A Shape”

Suite 6: “High Climb To The Gallows”
15. “Mind Glitch Keytar Theme”
16. “Motion Sickness”

Suite 7: “Murkings On The Oxblood Starway”:
17. “New Black Wave”
18. “Sonic Myth Map For The Trip Back”

Tags: Shabazz Palaces, News

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

May 2024

With Rachel Chinouriri, A.G. Cook, Yannis Philippakis, Wasia Project and more!

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY