Mac DeMarco announces new album ‘Five Easy Hot Dogs’

The instrumental LP was recorded during a road trip Mac took.

Following the release of his 2019 record ‘Here Comes The Cowboy’, Mac DeMarco has announced that his new album ‘Five Easy Hot Dogs’ will be out on 20th January and on vinyl on 12th May via Mac’s Record Label. An instrumental LP recorded during a road trip, Mac explains, “The plan was to start driving north, and not go home to Los Angeles until I was done with a record. Some places I stayed longer in than others, some of them I knew from the past, others not so much. I tried to keep things busy all the time. If I didn’t know what was up in a city, I’d just walk around ‘til someone recognized me and go from there. I met a lot of interesting people this way, and had a bunch of cool experiences.” Each song title on ‘Five Easy Hot Dogs’ corresponds to the city in which they were recorded and mixed, with the track list reflecting the order that Mac visited them. “The nature of ripping around and recording and traveling in this manner doesn’t lend well to sitting around and planning or thinking about what it was that I was setting out to do. I didn’t ever have a sound in mind, or a theme or anything, I would just start recording,” Mac adds. “Luckily the collection of recordings from this period all shake hands, they have a present musical identity as a whole. I was in it while I was in it, and this is what came out of it, just the way it was.” “This record sounds like what rolling around like that feels like. I hope you enjoy.” Have a look at the track list for ‘Five Easy Hot Dogs’ below. ‘Five Easy Hot Dogs’ Tracklisting: 1. Gualala 2. Gualala 2 3. Crescent City 4. Portland 5. Portland 2 6. Victoria 7. Vancouver 8. Vancouver 2 9. Vancouver 3 10. Edmonton 11. Edmonton 2 12. Chicago 1 13. Chicago 2 14. Rockaway

Tags: Mac Demarco, News

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

April 2024

With Bob Vylan, St Vincent, girl in red, Lizzy McAlpine and more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY