New Gil Scott-Heron Album ‘Nothing New’ To Be Released On Record Store Day

New album consists entirely of previously unheard material.

As part of this year’s Record Store Day celebrations, a new album’s worth of unheard Gil Scott-Heron material is set to be released through XL Recordings.

Limited to 3000 copies, the album consists of recordings put together during sessions for 2008 album ‘I’m New Here’. It turned out to be Scott-Heron’s final solo album, excluding the Jamie xx remix album ‘We’re New Here’.

Alongside news of the release, a track’s been unveiled in the form of ‘Alien (Hold On To Your Dreams)’. It echoes the stripped-down, piano-only routine of the album as a whole.

The record comes accompanied by sleeve notes from XL head honcho Richard Russell, an example of which can be found below, alongside a tracklist for the record.

Side A
1. Did You Hear What They Said 2. Better Days Ahead 3. Household Name (Interlude) 4. Your Daddy Loves You
5. Changing Yourself (Interlude) 6. Pieces Of A Man 7. Enjoying Yourself (Outro)

Side B
1. Alien (Hold On To Your Dreams) 2. Before I Hit The Bottom (Interlude) 3. 95 South (All The Places We’ve Been) 4. The Other Side
5. The On/Off Switch (Interlude) 6. Blue Collar 7. On Bobby Blue Bland (Outro)

Tags: Gil Scott-Heron, News

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

May 2024

With Rachel Chinouriri, A.G. Cook, Yannis Philippakis, Wasia Project and more!

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY