Polaris Prize reveals shortlist including Drake, Caribou, and Tobias Jesso Jr.

Viet Cong, Alvvays, and Braids also make the cut for 2015’s prize.

The annual shortlist for the 2015 Polaris Music Prize has been revealed today.

Now in its tenth year, the winner of this year’s award will be announced on 21st September at the Polaris Music Prize Gala, receiving a sum of $50,000. Today’s shortlist follows the longlist originially published in mid-June.

The Canadian Music Award has trimmed down the thirteen artist nominees to a list of ten acts, including past winner Caribou, Drake, and Tobias Jesso Jr. Also nominated are Alvvays, Viet Cong, and Braids, while Metz and White Lung drop out. The artists and the releases featured are as follows:

Alvvays ‘Alvvays’
Braids ‘Deep In The Iris’
Buffy Sainte-Marie ‘Power In The Blood’
Caribou ‘Our Love’
Drake ‘If You’re Reading This It’s Too Late’
Ghostface Killah and BADBADNOTGOOD ‘Sour Soul’
Jennifer Castle ‘Pink City’
The New Pornographers ‘Brill Bruisers’
Tobias Jesso Jr. ‘Goon’
Viet Cong ‘Viet Cong’

Past winners have included Tanya Tagaq, Arcade Fire, Feist, and Fucked Up. Read more over on the Polaris Music Prize website.

Tags: Alvvays, Caribou, Drake, Tobias Jesso Jr, News

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

July/August 2024

With Fontaines DC, Kneecap, BERWYN, Wunderhorse and many more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY