The Kills to release rarities album ‘Little Bastards’

And to celebrate they’re sharing the video for unreleased demo track ‘Raise Me’.

Currently at work on Album Six, The Kills have announced a brand new compilation album, ‘Little Bastards’, made up of B-sides and rarities from 2002-2009.

Set for release on 11th December via Domino, the album is named after the nickname for the drum machine they used back in the day. “It was a Roland 880,” says Jamie, “which isn’t strictly a drum machine – it’s a sequencer, and an eight-track recorder, with its own drum machine built in, and that’s what we’d record all our beats on.”

Speaking to us about what they’re working on back in May, Alison said, “We’re still writing, but [Jamie]’s in LA and I’m [in Nashville] and it’s a weird time. And I don’t wanna write a record about a virus, you know? I think I’m in shock and the world is in shock, and I can feel that energy and it’s really strange. I want to be able to navigate myself creatively through that with music, but something about music is so incredibly personal and I feel like my brain is a little bit frazzled with everything going on. But we’re both writing every day and sending stuff to each other, and I feel like I’ll be back in my rhythm more when this is a bit less insane.”

Releasing the video for unheard demo ‘Raise Me’, lifted from their ‘Midnight Boom’ era, check out the full ‘Little Bastards’ track list below.

‘Little Bastards’ Tracklisting:
1. SUPERPOWERLESS / Last Day Of Magic 7” (2008)
2. PASSION IS ACCURATE / Love Is A Deserter CD single (2005)
3. KISS THE WRONG SIDE / Cheap And Cheerful 7” (2008)
4. RAISE ME / Unreleased Demo (2009)
5. NIGHT TRAIN / Midnight Boom Digital Bonus Track (2008)
6. HALF OF US / No Wow 7” (2005)
7. LONDON HATES YOU / Tape Song 7” (2008)
8. I CALL IT ART / Monsieur Gainsbourg Revisited Compilation (2006)
9. FORTY FOUR / Black Balloon 7” (2009)
10. LOVE IS A DESERTER / Recorded for XFM (2005)
11. THE SEARCH FOR CHERRY RED / Pull A U 7” Single (2003)
12. MAGAZINE / Love Is A Deserter 7” (2005)
13. BLUE MOON / Future Starts Slow 7” Single (2009)
14. JEWEL THIEF / Fried My Little Brains 7” Single (2002)
15. BABY’S EYES / The Good Ones 7” Single (2003)
16. I PUT A SPELL ON YOU / Screamin’ Jay Hawkins Cover (2009)
17. RUN HOME SLOW / The Good Ones CD Single (2005)
18. WEED KILLER / Black Balloon 10” (2009)
19. THE VOID / No Wow Expanded Edition CD (2005)
20. SUGAR BABY / Fried My Little Brains CD single (2003)

Get tickets to watch The Kills live now.

Tags: The Kills, News, Watch

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

February 2024

Featuring The Last Dinner Party, IDLES, Yard Act, Crawlers, Remi Wolf and more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY