The Xcerts announce new album ‘There Is Only You’

The band will release the follow-up to ‘Scatterbrain’ this November.

The Xcerts have announced details of their brand new album ‘There Is Only You’. Following on from their 2010 record ‘Scatterbrain’, their third full-length is set for release on 3rd November through Raygun Music.

Produced by Dave Eringa (Manic Street Preachers, Idlewild) and close friend (and Cold Crows Dead collaborator) Paul Steel, the album will be eleven tracks in length and boasts their most recent single ‘Shaking In The Water’.

“The record,” frontman Murray Macleod offers up in a press release, “is about everything I’ve experienced in my life so far. [The songs] are about the past and how I’ve made some terrible mistakes, in romantic terms anyway, and learned a lot from them, which culminates in the last song on the record, ‘There Is Only You’. That’s about me getting to this point of finally being comfortable enough to be with one person for the rest of my life. But halfway through recording we took a break and the night I got home was the night she decided she didn’t want to be with me anymore. We got back on Friday, and I went back to the studio on the Monday for the next three weeks to finish the album. So it’s a weird twist to the tale of this record and I was completely lost in the second half of making the record.”

The tracklisting for the album is as follows.

1. 2.12.12
2. Live Like This
3. Shaking In The Water
4. Kick It
5. I Don’t Care
6. Kevin Costner
7. Teenage Lust
8. Pop Song
9. Kids On Drugs
10. She
11. There Is Only You

The band have also confirmed plans to head out to the US later this year, as support to Brand New when they play fifteen shows across North America this October.

12 The National, Richmond, VA
13 The Orange Peel, Asheville, NC
15 Tabernacle, Atlanta, GA
16 War Memorial, Nashville, TN
17 Civic Theatre, New Orleans, LA
18 Bayou Music Center, Houston, TX
19 Stubb’s, Austin, TX
21 Iron City, Birmingham, AL
22 The Lyric, Oxford, MS
24 House Of Blues, Orlando, FL
25 Fillmore, Miami Beach, FL
26 Jannus Landing, St Petersburg, FL
28 House Of Blues, N. Myrtle Beach, SC
29 The Fillmore, Charlotte, NC
30 The Norva, Norfolk, VA

Tags: The Xcerts, News

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

November 2023

Featuring King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard, IDLES, Tkay Maidza, Sleater-Kinney and more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY