News Tom Jones Unveils Tom Waits And Leonard Cohen Covers Album

DISCLAIMER: This is not an April Fools.

Tom Jones has revealed an album full of Tom Waits and Leonard Cohen and, no, this isn't a joke.

His 40th record to date, 'Spirit in the Room' will feature the likes of Paul McCartney, Paul Simon, and even The Low Anthem.

Last month we reported on Tom's new single 'Evil', produced by none other than Jack White, and now he's unveiled this brilliant collection of these bleary-eyed covers.

An impressive array of names checked, it's quite a surreal thought to think of Tom Jones dwelling sombrely, nursing a glass of whiskey to the same kind of music as we brood to.

'Spirit in the Room' will be released on the 21st May on Island Records.

The tracklist is as follows:

1 Tower Of Song (Leonard Cohen)
2 (I Want To) Come Home (Paul McCartney)
3 Hit Or Miss (Odetta)
4 Love And Blessings (Paul Simon)
5 Soul Of A Man (Blind Willie Johnson)
6 Bad As Me (Tom Waits)
7 Dimming Of The Day (Richard Thompson)
8 Travelling Shoes (Vera Hall Ward)
9 All Blues Hail Mary (Joe Henry)
10 Charlie Darwin (The Low Anthem)

Tags: Tom Waits, News

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.