Gaz Coombes & Danny Goffey’s The Hotrats reveal homemade video for new cover of Kelis‘Milkshake’

The Supergrass duo share the visuals created by Gaz under lockdown.

10 years on since they introduced The Hotrats, Gaz Coombes and Danny Goffey - one half of Supergrass, obv - have reunited to share a cover of Kelis’ ‘Milkshake’ and now they’re sharing the accompanying video, created and edited by Gaz under lockdown.

“The response to our cover of Milkshake has been brilliant and we’d like to thank Kelis for not suing us! Although it’s doubtful she knows who we are, so we’re all good there I guess. Anyway it was made with love and respect so we’re happy it’s brought a little bit of light to everyone right now.

We decided to make something visual and fun to go with our version of Milkshake & thought it’d be cool to use this time during lockdown to put a video together.

We wanted to create a snapshot of the mad times we had as the Hotrats… a little glimpse behind the scenes. Danny and I worked remotely, hunted down the footage and sent clips and images between each other for a day or two. I also unearthed some surreal old stock footage and lots of cool fan videos from some of those bonkers gigs we did. Then it was just a case of capturing the energy in an edit.

It’s our little lockdown gift of milky love to everyone.”

The new vid comes ahead of the release of ‘Turn Ons - 10th Anniversary Edition’, and you can peep the full track list below.

‘Turn Ons - 10th Anniversary Edition’ Tracklisting:

1. I Can’t Stand It (The Velvet Underground)
2. Big Sky (The Kinks)
3. The Crystal Ship (The Doors)
4. (You Gotta) Fight For Your Right (To Party!) (Beastie Boys)
5. Damaged Goods (Gang Of Four)
6. Love Is The Drug (Roxy Music)
7. Bike (Pink Floyd)
8. Pump It Up (Elvis Costello)
9. The Lovecats (The Cure)
10. Queen Bitch (David Bowie)
11. E.M.I (Sex Pistols)
12. Up The Junction (Squeeze)
13. Mirror In The Bathroom (The Beat)
14. West End Girls (Pet Shop Boys)
15. Drive My Car (The Beatles)
16. Drive My Car (Alternate Mix)
17. Milkshake (Kelis)

1. Introduction
2. I Can’t Stand It
3. Damaged Goods
4. (You Gotta) Fight For Your Right (To Party!)
5. The Crystal Ship
6. Pump It Up
7. Love Is The Drug
8. Big Sky
9. Queen Bitch
10. Bike
11. Mirror In The Bathroom
12. E.M.I.
13. The Lovecats
14. Drive My Car
15. Caught By The Fuzz
16. Can’t Stand It
17. Mirror In The Bathroom
18. E.M.I.

1. I Can’t Stand It (Instrumental)
2. Big Sky (Instrumental)
3. The Crystal Shop (Instrumental)
4. (You Gotta) Fight For Your Right (To Party!) (Instrumental)
5. Damaged Goods (Instrumental)
6. Love Is The Drug (Instrumental)
7. Bike (Instrumental)
8. Pump It Up (Instrumental)
9. The Lovecats (Instrumental)
10. Queen Bitch (Instrumental)
11. Up The Junction (Instrumental)
12. Mirror In The Bathroom (Instrumental)
13. Milkshake (Instrumental)

Tags: Danny Goffey, Gaz Coombes, Kelis, The Hot Rats, News, Watch

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

March 2024

Featuring Green Day, English Teacher, Everything Everything, Caity Baser and more!

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY