Wolf Alice, Jorja Smith & Arctic Monkeys among shortlist for the 2018 Hyundai Mercury Prize

Novelist, Florence + The Machine, Lily Allen and more are also up for the legendary gong, announced in September.

Photo: Phil Smithies

It’s that time again! Albums have been listened to, votes have been cast and the nominees have been announced: Wolf Alice, Jorja Smith, Arctic Monkeys and Novelist are some of the shortlisted nominees for the 2018 Hyundai Mercury Prize.

Other artists given the nod this year include Everything Everything, Lily Allen, Florence + The Machine and Nadine Shah.

This year’s set of shortlisted albums was decided by a judging panel which featured the likes of Mumford & Sons’ Marcus Mumford, Ella Eyre and Lianne La Havas.

The ceremony for this year’s Prize - which was won by Sampha last year - is set to take place on 20th September at London’s Hammersmith Apollo, and you can check out the full list of nominees below.

Arctic Monkeys - ‘Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino’

Everything Everything - ‘A Fever Dream’

Florence + The Machine - ‘High As Hope’

Jorja Smith - ‘Lost & Found’

Lily Allen - ‘No Shame’

Nadine Shah - ‘Holiday Destination’

Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds - ‘Who Built The Moon?’

Novelist - ‘Novelist Guy’

Richard Russell - ‘Everything Is Recorded’

Sons of Kemet - ‘Your Queen Is A Reptile’

Wolf Alice - ‘Visions of a Life’

King Krule - ‘The OOZ’

Tags: Arctic Monkeys, Jorja Smith, Wolf Alice, News

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

July/August 2024

With Fontaines DC, Kneecap, BERWYN, Wunderhorse and many more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY