Yo La Tengo announce new album ‘There’s A Riot Going On’

And they’ve shared four new tracks!

Five years on from their last album, Yo La Tengo are set to return with a new album!

‘There’s A Riot Going On’ will be out on 16th March through Matador Records and is set to be one of their most ambitious yet. In a lengthy statement via a press release, Luc Sante said: “While there’s a riot going on, Yo La Tengo will remind you what it’s like to dream. The sound burbles and washes and flows and billows. If records were dedicated to the cardinal elements, this one would be water. There are shimmery hazes, spectral rumbles, a flash of backward masking, ghostly flamingos calling “shoo-bop shoo-bop.” You are there. And even if your mind is not unclouded—shaken, misdirected, out of words and out of time—you can still float, ride the waves of an ocean deeper than your worries, above the sound and above the Sound”. Take a look at the tracklisting below.

01. You Are Here
02. Shades of Blue
03. She May, She Might
04. For You Too
05. Ashes
06. Polynesia #1
07. Dream Dream Away
08. Shortwave
09. Above the Sound
10. Let’s Do It Wrong
11. What Chance Have I Got
12. Esportes Casual
13. Forever
14. Out of the Pool
15. Here You Are

As well as sharing details of the record, the band have also shared four (yes, that’s right, four!) new tracks: ‘You Are Here’, ‘Shades of Blue’, ‘She May, She Might’ and ‘Out of the Pool’. They’ve also announced plans for a run of UK dates as part of a world tour, which will take place in April and May.

Listen to ‘You Are Here’, ‘Shades of Blue’, ‘She May, She Might’ and ‘Out of the Pool’ and see Yo La Tengo’s upcoming UK tour dates below.

29 Glasgow, SWG3
30 Manchester, Academy

01 Birmingham, Town Hall
03 Leeds, Church
04 London, Royal Festival Hall

Get tickets to watch Yo La Tengo live now.

Tags: Yo La Tengo, News, Listen

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

June 2024

With Glass Animals, Los Campesinos!, Alfie Templeman, Lava La Rue and many more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY