Animal Collective announce new album ‘Isn’t It Now?’

The band have also shared the record’s first single, ‘Soul Capturer’.

Animal Collective have announced news of their new studio album, ‘Isn’t It Now?’, which is slated for release on 29th September via Domino. It comes after they unveiled their recent single ‘Defeat’ - a 22 minute epic - which will feature on the album, as well as beloved live cut ‘King’s Walk’.

Made up of Avey Tare, Panda Bear, Deakin and Geologist, the quartet have built a reputation for Animal Collective as a band of exploration and boundary pushing. ‘Isn’t It Now’ promises to be no different: with a runtime of 64 minutes, it’s their longest ever project, spanning themes of nostalgia, change, and kinship across nine tracks.

The quartet recorded the album with Grammy-winning producer Russell Elevado (The Roots, Kamasi Washington), and have today shared its opening track ‘Soul Capturer’ - an undulating ballad tackling the anxieties of being permanently online.

The full tracklist for ‘Isn’t It Now?’ is:

1. Soul Capturer
2. Genie’s Open
3. Broke Zodiac
4. Magicians From Baltimore
5. Defeat
6. Gem & I
7. Stride Rite
8. All The Clubs Are Broken
9. King’s Walk

Listen to ‘Soul Capturer’ below.

Tags: Animal Collective, News, Listen

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

May 2024

With Rachel Chinouriri, A.G. Cook, Yannis Philippakis, Wasia Project and more!

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY