James Blake announces new album and shares its first single, ‘Big Hammer’

He’s also shared details of a nationwide headline tour later this year.

It’s a big day for James Blake fans, as he announces the release of his sixth studio album, ‘Playing Robots Into Heaven’, on 8th September via Republic. He’s also given the first hint of what to expect from the record with lead single ‘Big Hammer’, an electro-coloured number on which James has performance, writing, and production credits.

‘Playing Robots Into Heaven’ is the follow up to his critically acclaimed album ‘Friends That Break Your Heart’, and the musical polymath will mark its release with an international headline tour - including what’s sure to be a special hometown show at London’s Alexandra Palace.

Tickets for the tour go on general sale this Friday (30th June); see the full list of dates below.


18 Milan, Italy
21 Brussels, Belgium
22 Paris, France
24 Berlin, Germany
26 Tilburg, Netherlands
28 London, UK


03 Atlanta, GA
05 Queens, NY
09 Boston, MA
10, Montreal, Canada
12 Toronto, Canada
14 Chicago, IL
16 San Francisco, CA
19 Los Angeles, CA.

Watch the official video for ‘Big Hammer’ below.

Tags: James Blake, News

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

June 2024

With Glass Animals, Los Campesinos!, Alfie Templeman, Lava La Rue and many more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY