Metronomy are re-releasing their ‘Nights Out’ album for its tenth anniversary

The new edition will include unreleased demos, rarities and b-sides.

Metronomy are currently hard at work on their sixth album, but today they’ve announced they’ll be releasing a special edition of their ‘Nights Out’ album for its tenth anniversary.

‘Nights Out: 10th Anniversary Edition’ will be released on 8th February via Because Music and will include a bunch of unreleased demos, rarities and b-sides, including two alternative versions of tracks which have become staples of Metonomy’s live set: a bedtime dub version of ‘Holiday’ which takes it into a darker, glitchier direction, and a French-language version of ‘Heartbreaker’.

About ‘Nights Out’, the band’s Joe Mount commented: “Oscar reminded me the other day how I said to him on completing Radio Ladio ‘I think I’ve just written my first number 1’. I hadn’t. We also reminisced about the day we borrowed the Honda Insight for the album artwork: I found the owner on an enthusiasts chat room, we gave his daughter two Kate Nash tickets and a meet and greet with Kate in exchange for a few shots with the vehicle… simpler times. Shout out to Myspace.”

The tracklisting for the new edition is:

Original album
Side A

1. ‘Nights Out’
2. ‘The End Of You Too’
3. ‘Radio Ladio’
4. ‘My Heart Rate Rapid’
5. ‘Heartbreaker’
6. ‘On The Motorway’

Side B
7. ‘Side 2’
8. ‘Holiday’
9. ‘A Thing For Me’
10. ‘Back On The Motorway’
11. ‘On Dancefloors’
12. ‘Nights Outro’

New ‘10th Anniversary Edition’ disc
Side A

1. ‘Our Raid’ (‘Holiday’ B-side)
2. ‘Let’s Have A Party’ (‘Holiday’ 12” B-side)
3. ‘The Chase’ (Rough Trade bonus disc)
4. ‘Holiday’ (Bedtime dub) (‘Holiday’ 12” B-side)
5. ‘Please Me’ (Bonus iTunes album track)
6. ‘Over’ (Rough Trade bonus disc)

Side B
7. ‘Matthias Gathering’ (‘My Heart Rate Rapid’ 12” B-side)
8. ‘Heartbreaker’ (French version)*
9. ‘A Thing For Me’ (Breakbot remix) (‘A Thing For Me’ 12” remix)
10. ‘Intro Thing’ (demo)*
11. ‘Young Americans’ (demo)*
12. ‘Output’ (demo)*
13. ‘Das Booty’ (demo)*

* Denotes a previously unreleased track

Catch up on where Metronomy are at with their new album in our interview from earlier this year.

Tags: Metronomy, News

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

September 2023

Featuring James Blake, Romy, Marika Hackman, yeule and more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY