Metronomy announce new album ‘Summer 08’, share ‘Old Skool’, featuring Mix Master Mike

Joe Mount’s fifth album is out on 1st July.

Metronomy are bloody back! They’ve just unveiled ‘Old Skool’, the first single to be taken from their fifth album ‘Summer 08’

The follow-up to 2014’s ‘Love Letters’ is set to be released on 1st July, and is being previewed by a track that shows Joe Mount at his most confident and swaggering yet. It also looks like a return to the dancier tones of third album ‘The English Riviera’, after the band took a turn towards melancholy with ‘Love Letters’. ‘Old Skool’ features mixing from Mix Master Mike of Beastie Boys.

Speaking to Annie Mac, who premiered the track as her Hottest Record, Mount said he “tried to do what was the most pleasing thing to me at the time”, and calls the album “the most fun thing I’ve done in a long time”.

DIY recently went in the studio with Mount while recording the new album, to see how things were progressing. Mount calls the album an “audio pedicure”, and spoke of the difficulties of his want to not tour the album, saying: “I thought, ‘This isn’t the worst thing in the world, is it?’ Just not touring for a little while. What if the label had a band who suddenly lost their arms and couldn’t physically tour?

“Maybe I underestimated just how hard it is for record labels in this day and age. They need all the help they can get, because people don’t really buy albums anymore. It’s tricky. But they’ve actually been really supportive. Although I partly convinced them by extending the record deal a little bit. I didn’t have to give them another option on a record, but I wanted to make it more comfortable for them. It sweetens the deal, I suppose.”

Read that chat in full here, and listen to ‘Old Skool’ below. ‘Summer 08’ is out on 1st July - pre-orders are open now.


Metronomy now have unveiled a snazzy ‘Old Skool’ video, starring Sharon Horgan (Catastrophe) and Ben Crompton (Game of Thrones). A deranged ’70s-style party scene plays out, in a nod to Mike Leigh’s ‘Abigail’s Party’. Expect big hair, slugs and offensive sunglasses.

Joe Mount’s also shared the full tracklist for ‘Summer 08’. Robyn guests on a new track, ‘Hang Me Out To Dry’.

1. Back Together
2. Miami Logic
3. Old Skool (with Mixmaster Mike)
4. 16 Beat
5. Hang Me Out To Dry (with Robyn)
6. Mick Slow
7. My House
8. Night Owl
9. Love’s Not an Obstacle
10. Summer Jam

Tags: Metronomy, News, Listen

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

November 2023

Featuring King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard, IDLES, Tkay Maidza, Sleater-Kinney and more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY