Surprise surprise Of Montreal surprise release new EP ‘Rune Husk’

Of Montreal surprise release new EP ‘Rune Husk’

The four-track collection follows last year’s album ‘Innocence Reaches’.

Last year, Kevin Barnes and his Georgian psych-pop group of Montreal released their latest record ‘Innocence Reaches’. Fewer than six months later they’re back with a new collection of songs.

Their ‘Rune Husk’ EP was surprise-released over the weekend and is the first record to be launched on Kevin’s Sybaritic Peer label. It features four previously unreleased tracks: ‘Internecine Larks’, ‘Stag To The Stable’, ‘Widowsucking’ and ‘Island Life’.

‘Stag To The Stable’ is about as close as the band are ever likely to get to a “classic” rock song, but don’t worry if you want some of their classic, noisy and often bizarre take on alt-pop. ‘Windowsucking’ and ‘Island Life’ definitely bring that to the table.

Listen to ‘Rune Husk’ below via Spotify.

Tags: Of Montreal, Listen, News

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

May 2023

Featuring Squid, Miya Folick, Peace, Rina Sawayama, Temps and more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY