Of Montreal announce new album ‘Innocence Reaches’

They’ve also aired the lead single ‘it’s different for girls’.

Of Montreal are back! They’ve announced their new record ‘Innocence Reaches,’ along with sharing the lead single ‘it’s different for girls’.

It follows on from the band’s two albums last year, ‘Aureate Gloom’ and ‘Snare Lustrous Doomings’. ‘Innocence Reaches’ is out 12th August via Polyvinyl.

In a press release, frontman Kevin Barnes explained that he’s listening to current music more than ever, and it heavily influences this new record. “Forever I’ve been detached from current music,” he said. “I got into this bubble of only being in some other time period. I came up picking apart the Beach Boys, the Beatles, and symphonic pieces. But last year, I was hearing Jack Ü, Chairlift, Arca, and others, thinking about low end and sound collage. It was an extra layer to geek out on.”

The tracklisting for ‘Innocence Reaches’ is as follows:

01 let’s relate
02 it’s different for girls
03 gratuitous abysses
04 my fair lady
05 les chants de maldoror
06 a sport and a pastime
07 ambassador bridge
08 def pacts
09 chaos arpeggiating
10 nursing slopes
11 trashed exes
12 chap pilot

Listen to ‘it’s different for girls’ below.

Tags: Of Montreal, News, Listen

Read More

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Stay Updated!

Get the best of DIY to your inbox each week.

Latest Issue

September 2023

Featuring James Blake, Romy, Marika Hackman, yeule and more.

Read Now Buy Now Subscribe to DIY